Hello and Beware

Hello, I’m new to Folksy and last night I thought I’d made my first 3 sales, but my pleasure was very short-lived as the buyer was having problems paying. As it was my first sale I thought something was wrong, and indeed it was as I hadn’t actually linked my account properly to Stripe. In the meantime I had emails from Folksy saying that the buyer couldn’t pay and the buyer had sent links for payment to be covered by Royal Mail which I thought was very strange. The buyer said all I had to do was press the link and after I gave my card number payment would be made. This really rang alarm bells.

I did a bit more research and contacted one of the other vendors on the site. I also noticed that the address wasn’t a specific number but read, near by the street. I thought who has their address like that.

I sorted out the Stripe account as far as I could and emailed the buyer to try again using Folksy and I said I wasn’t going to use the Royal Mail method (it was obviously a fake page).

Funnily enough, they didn’t get back to me. I then emailed Folksy and to their credit answered quite quickly and confirmed that it was indeed a scam.

During this whole process I was scared that I’d made a complete muck up of my first sale and wanted to make sure it went as smoothly as possible. I felt completely unsupported and it would have been very useful to have had the opportunity to phone someone. Emailing is all well and good, but it’s slow and when you want immediate help it would be useful to have that.

I still have no idea what I’m doing with Stripe as it seems as clear as mud to me, but I’ve never been great with finances.

The fact that I haven’t made one sale in 3 months and all the hassle I’ve had with this scammer it doesn’t bode well for the future and I’m strongly considering closing my account.

I hope no one else gets caught out with this.

Best wishes

Margaret

4 Likes