Carrying forward profit (or loss) on your tax return

I hoping someone can quickly give me an answer to this please. Although I’ve been doing self assessment returns for a few years now, I’ve had a mental block and need clarification that I do carry forward any profit (or loss) from my previous tax year to my current tax year. It makes sense that I do, but I’ve searched online and through HMRC and nothing is jumping out as black and white to actually answer my question.

I suddenly noticed, having sent in my figures online, that I hadn’t carired forward my previous profit so I’ve just gone back in an updated my return. That’s when it got me thinking and searching to make sure I’ve done it correclty.

Thanks for looking.

Elaine

I’ve been doing this for a few years now and only been making a small profit the last 2 years. My first year’s losses were a fair amount of money and then the second year my losses were about half of that of the first year. I have reached the point this year whereby I have not managed to “use up” the losses from the first year cos so far my profits have not been enough to set off against those losses but because you have a given amount of time to use up each of the losses I have now “written off” the unused losses from the first year. This means that I have the losses from the second year to set losses against this year and if I don’t use those up, I will write off any unused losses on my next tax return.

If it helps, I have put a note in my accounts as a reminder to myself that losses from 2010/11 have to be used up by 5/4/2015 and losses from 2011/12 have to be used up by 5/4/2016.