Disabled crafters

I am curious as to the range and scope of disabled crafters out there, particularly those that sell at craft fairs. I regularly speak to a lady in a wheelchair crafter, who makes jewellery and shares a stall with someone else, but unless her friend can make it, she cannot transport and erect all the bits herself due to her limited mobility. I doubt if the organiser has had any disability-needs training. I used to be an accessibility consultant, since retired, and know that access and inclusion covers everyone, from vision-impaired, to hearing impaired, mobility-impaired, learning-disability, etc. Your thoughts and experiences would be useful.

1 Like

I’d love to do craft fairs, but have IBS and an overactive bladder, so unless I know there are good toilet facilities where I won’t have to queue I can’t go to any fairs to sell. I’ve never yet visited a fair where I could envisage being able to spend the day, so have to miss out on that market. Thank goodness for on-line selling!

I’ve come across a few disabled sellers at craft fairs, usually with helpers that come with them, but it’s rare to find any that sell on their own. I also know a lot of non-disabled sellers who have certain health/mobility issues that would exclude them from selling at fairs without help, and many more reasonably healthy ones who still find it too physically demanding to set up and take down on their own, so need to enlist the help of friends or partners.

Some of the larger fairs have ‘helpers’ who will give a hand with heavy items and unloading/loading cars, but usually it’s down to the sellers to organise their own help. Organisers will usually try to make life easier by allocating accessible spaces to those with problems, and it’s always worth asking in advance whether help would be available on the day.