I see a thing happening here

I don’t know how to describe this, but whenever I look at handmade stuff I feel slightly inferior. Here’s how it goes:

Person: I am a humble artist. I made this thing by using £14198346193864.99p worth of machinery and very sensitive super-computer technology that costs just a few thousand pounds and I make a profit in 0.23523 seconds. Meanwhile I have an unrealistic schedule in my life that include photos that look like they’ve been professionally taken with the top-market cameras with 3283 size lens. By the way, did I mention I am a humble artist?

Me: …I have tacky glue and nail clippers.

Some people just seem to magic all these expensive equipment out of nowhere while working in studios befitting a catalogue that is a physical embodiment of P*nterest (<–Is that a bad word?)

Like, where do they buy those kind of things from??

4 Likes

:joy: well I have no idea! My equipment is a average priced Singer sewing machine and Jewellery Makers tools, though I do have a nice little camera that hubby bought me for my birthday a few years ago, but that’s pretty much it!

I’m at the very low end too (and love it!). My sewing “box” is a set of drawers on wheels that I salvaged from outside someone’s house (with their permission) and my work station is usually a lap tray!!

Elaine

My camera is on loan from the other half along with his tripod, I made the rest of my studio set up from a wine crate, some old silver wrapping paper, a couple of sheets of card and some rocks I found on the beach. My original tools were a birthday present from my grandparents and my boyfriend but I have added a few more as and when profits allowed. My work bench was a birthday present from my father in law made from 2 desks he recovered from a skip.
You can achieve a professional product without the need for expensive stuff, you can also produce utter tat whilst spending a lot of money. Don’t worry about it.

10 Likes