Need Advice Please - Is this Spam!

I need advice on a message I received this morning. I think it may be spam, would appreciate your comments.

Many Thanks x

"Simply Sewing magazine

Hi there,

I’m a writer for Simply Sewing magazine and I would love to feature your pink buttons in the news pages of the next issue. Would it be possible to send me a hi res image of them?

My email address is… and it would be great to hear back from you ASAP as my deadline is MONDAY. Of course we will credit and link to your shop."

I’ve had enquiries like this before and I’ve never thought of them as spam. Maybe do a quick google to see if the writer does work for them if you are worried.

No, it’s not spam. It’s free advertising! :slight_smile:

1 Like

It is classed as spam as you never contacted them, ie it’s unsolicited mail.

It might be on the up but then it might also be some sort of a scam.

So I would do as Stevie suggests find the contact details for the magazine via a internet search and give them a ring to see if it’s a real thing and if it’s of any use to yourself.

Thankfully they haven’t asked you to send the item.

1 Like

I agree with Melanie. I’ve been contacted by a mag editor before needing a quick pic to stick in their next edition. If you’re worried you can check what the email address for the magazine is, I would think the person that’s contacted you should have that as part of their email address, i.e. josara@simplysewingmagazine.co.uk. If they have only given you a personal email I’d probably check with the magazine that they work for them. Although I can’t really see what the scam would be from a pic of some buttons.

Jo

2 Likes

I can see where it could be a scam if they’ve given a link that is a phishing link. Then you have all sorts of problems not just virus but stealing of information and passwords into your online bank accounts, paypal etc etc