A Plea For Help And Hope

Good afternoon, all.

I have been making and selling jewellery for a few years with great success. Just over a year ago I decided to take everything online as it seemed the sensible option, with little overhead cost and freeing up my time making life and business more flexible and harmonised. I opened an Etsy shop last March, and was assured that with exposure, persistence and time it would be just like having a real shop again with a tiny percentage of the expense.

Earlier this year I discovered Folksy, but before I kicked it off I decided to double my investment in time and money on Etsy; since June I have completely transformed my shop: I have hundreds of products, I add something new most days, I followed all the books and sellers guides to the letter and have implemented all the advice I could get my hands on. Since June I have acquired the grand total of: 1 sale. One! I have numerous views every day, even if I haven’t been active that day, and the interest is clearly there, BUT, I just don’t get the whole hog to a purchase. I’m confused, frustrated and practically exhausted with it and I don’t know where to turn anymore. I’ve never been so close to giving up, which really scares me because my craft and design is my whole life- it’s just in retrograde from when I tried to make my life easier by going online.

What I’m looking for is some help and friendly advice on your experience, to restore my hope in that I have made the right decision to dedicate my life to fulfilling my passion and creating precious and exclusive jewellery pieces for everyone and anyone to enjoy. Have you experienced something similar? What are your thoughts on Etsy, and the difference between it and Folksy? Is it worth my time to stop flogging the dead horse and re-invest the same level of effort into this promising site?

Any honest opinions and an outside perspective that can shed some light on my current challenge will be eternally appreciated.

Many Thanks,