Am I being unreasonable...?

I won’t name and shame on the forums, but I’ve just found another seller who has not only started to sell a product that is very similar to one of my designs (something that I have been pretty much the only person selling on Folksy for over three years), but has also virtually swiped my carefully crafted product description lock, stock and barrel! All she has done it to change a few words, but it’s still recognisably mine… Blimmin’ cheek!

So I’ve reported her to Folksy. I haven’t complained that she is copying my design, as it’s something that most competent seamstresses could pretty easily work out for themselves. But nicking my words is much easier to demonstrate.

Then I notice that someone else is making the same product and using photos that are suspiciously close to mine… Again, it’s a photographic set-up I’ve developed and have I’ve been using on Folksy for several years.

There. Rant over.

Am I being totally paranoid/unreasonable??

3 Likes

Nope - not unreasonable or paranoid at all! Sadly, the world is full of people who may have the skill to do something, but no imagination to do their own designing. When I started out doing this full time I had someone who saw everything I posted on a certain forum, and would then make her (tacky) version of it (usually for a higher price!) She followed me onto Folksy and again, anything new I did, a few weeks later she would do it to. Thankfully she got bored after a couple of years - hopefully your issue can be sorted before that long, though x

3 Likes

You’re not being unreasonable, there’s nothing worse than feeling like someone is ripping off your hard work!
I can’t see whats the point being in a creative industry if you have no imagination or ideas of your own. Taking inspiration is one thing- but inspiration isn’t the same as ‘copying’. Inspiration tends to lead to something far from the original.

3 Likes