Beginners Camera - Product Photography

Hi all

Would really appreciate some help! I’ve been looking at some cameras for product photography but as a beginner I am quickly over whelmed!

1)What matters the most when picking a camera for product photography?
2) does crop frame vs full frame really make a difference - should I lean more towards full frame camera?
3) can you suggest any cameras that have good video quality too?
4) DSLR or Mirrorless - does it matter which one/will it make a difference?

Thanks so much!

Welcome to the Folksy Forums! I use the same ancient Canon PowerShot for my photos that I’ve been using for years, and I know a lot of people just use their phones and their photos look OK… sorry I’m not very technically minded so I can’t answer your camera-related technical questions, my only criterion is that the customer should be able to see an honest representation of what they’re going to be buying! So my own photos tend to over-emphasise the flaws if anything, that way the customer isn’t going to be disappointed :slight_smile:

1 Like

It’s not clear from your post as to whether you are planning on becoming a professional product photographer or if you are looking to photograph your own products for online selling, I’m going to assume it’s the latter. So as a beginner I’d recommend that you start by using the camera on your phone and using the money to get some sort of lighting set up/ back drop/ props to go in the images/ tripod (for camera phones you can get all in one rigs with lighting and phone holder). Most camera phones will shoot video as well.
Once you’ve found your photography style and figured out how you are going to use the images then you might want to consider getting a different camera if you are not getting the images you want.

1 Like

Hiya

Sorry should have been more clear - I plan to do product photography professionally - not for anything I am personally selling

1 Like