Changing roads

hi, im a designer and sewer, i used to do upcyled clothing and then i changed to baby wear making dresses bibs, booties ect, but now three years on i want to go back to upcyling clothing and jewellery, but first i must let all my baby stuff be sold . its hard work, im trying selling it singly, job lots, bundles. i wish i had a magic want so it would all be sold as i am so excited in starting my new ventures lots of designs in my head waiting to burst out and be made!
does anybody else change the designing path they go down?

1 Like

All the time but not on Folksy,I do art and jewellery on here but you have to do other things,it could drive you nuts otherwise and I suspect this is why some suffer “crafters block”.
I have access to any number of old palletes and have made some nice garden furniture from them,people say it would sell but I like to do it for a break and besides I am not good with words like “bespoke” or “hand crafted from re-cycled timber” and in my heart of hearts still see it as a load of old tosh I made from palletes.
But yes I change my design theme a lot,some times work a bit of iron or stone other times maybe something from the junk pile.

I looked at your shop and nice stuff,why not carry on with them but add your new things?

Yep, I totally jejigged my crafts. I usually make a couple of things when I have a new idea, leaving me with no defined subject as to what a customer can come to me for, and I feel people like to know a maker for 1 or 2 things eg at a craft fair people flock to a jewellery stall because they want to look at lots of jewellery, rather than plough through a hundred unrelated items.
So I have rounded my ideas down to sewing and soldering.
Im currently trying to design fabric, but, do I design it to make things with myself, or sell the fabric for other people to make things!!?? If so, what designs would they want?! Heeelpp!!