Would like a new direction - need your advice please

I have been selling for about 2 years now, and although i don’t make enough for a living, its has been the best thing i have ever done. I still get a massive grin on my face when someone buys something off me :smiley: but as a single mum i have to do a day job to pay the bills, and up to now that has been fine. A few years ago i was a carer, i loved that job but had to take time out when my eldest died in a car crash. Over the last few years i have been working in a shop, but i wanted to go back into caring so applied for a job and was so happy when they said i had got the job but had to wait for the DBS and references to be cleared. Everything had but a reference came back wrong. So they took the job off me :frowning: it turns out my current boss said some horrible things. I have seen different people about it so it is a ongoing thing, but i have to still work there, and it is so hard knowing how the boss really thinks about me.
So i have been thinking as i can sew do people buy bedding, i thought if i make cot and single bed size duvet covers and pillow cases to start with do people buy them ? As i am self employed with my knitting maybe i could give up the day job and just be self employed, but need something that i can sell and live off. I get tax credits but do they give you that if you are just self employed ? Sorry to go on i had to say the first part to make the second understandable.

I think to be honest if you’re looking into making something you can live off, you need to do some serious research. Can you sell items that pay you an hourly rate, a living wage? As I’m sure you;re already aware, handmade is a niche market and getting regular customers that will pay a premium for handmade goods, which you can make a living from, is a hard nut to crack, hence many handmade crafters doing it as a “hobby” or to supplement a full time job.