Facebook: is it worth it for marketing?

Since I’m new to all this I’m interested in people’s views on where it’s worth spending your time promoting what you do. I don’t have a huge amount of free time as we live on a smallholding, this time of the year is busy. I had a facebook page previously, years ago, but things seem to have changed a lot. Posts don’t even seem to reach a third of likers, I haven’t got many anyway. Is it worth pursuing it, certainly I don’t think I’d even bother to pay for advertising for more likers if people don’t even get your posts on there. Do people have a lot of success with it?
I’m not really interested in twitter, it would be nice if I have somewhere I can post little regular updates like workbench Wednesday, informal stuff about my process etc, for which it would be ideal.

I have a FB page, I’ve had a few sales but not that many that I can retire on. Its hard work promoting no matter where you do it. Some days I find I can spend a good 5 hours promoting which isn’t good if you have other things to do.

Pauline

2 Likes

I also have a facebook page and it has brought sales, again like Pauline , not enough to retire on, but if you don’t give things a try you will never know :slight_smile: You can set your post to appear in your timeline at a particular time and day so it needn’t be too time consuming.
Jax x

1 Like

Emma, Have you tried Craftjuice. There are posts on here linked to it and we vote for each other’s items, there’s some good information about it on the site, it might be worth a look and try. Marg. x

1 Like

I don’t mind trying to build an audience again, it’s just the last post I put had a reach of…one person! I know I only have seventeen at the moment but even so that is pretty rubbish! At that rate retirement wouldn’t ever be an option! Quite what Facebook are doing with the algorithms I don’t know. I don’t see all the posts from my very good friends now.

1 Like