Feedback on crafts tools

Hi guys,
I’m a product design student currently at university and we have been set our new design brief, we are to redesign and improve the craft knife.
I am posting on here to get any feedback or issues you have with already existing products or why you use the knife you do. Safety worries, ease of use, anything you want to be improved, any ideas you have really.

Any feedback is welcome and would be really handy!

Thanks

I have used many in my time, the scalpel is probably my most used, maybe a softer handle, if this hasn’t already been developed, I still have mine from art college albeit with fresh blades! I have cut myself several times, at least they’re clean cuts. And again, a simple cover for the blade, we used to make them from folded bits of thin cardboard and sellotape, I took mine out whilst I was sketching once and successfully managed to stab myself when I was checking to see if it was in the pocket, maybe again, this has been done? I only ever buy replacement blades these days. The Stanley knife is another tool box favourite, again, a softer cover, these blades retract, they are a bit of a fiddle to change the blades around, but I think this makes them stronger to use. In more recent years, I have bought twisle (if that’s how you spell it) blade knives, these are soft handled, the blades break quickly if you apply too much pressure, but it means you can cut really fine curves effectively, you just have to learn to use them. Hope this is of help :blush:

I use a scalpel if I need a crisp cut on kumihimo cords/soutache. Biggest problem is applying too much pressure to the blade and damaging it, i e total user error.