Help needed with reflective surfaces

I’m having problems showing the real qualities of my metallic clay pendants. They are made from polymer clay with mica inclusions and in real life they shine and sparkle, especially the gold. However, all my attemps at photographing them leaves them flat and lifeless and not entirely true to colour (especially the bronze clay which looks more like a brick red!). In some instances the mica particles reflect light straight back and appear as white spots. I have managed to produce very good images of similar pendants which are predominantly gold (they got snapped up before Folksy got a chance!). This is not helped by the fact that I am getting to grips with a new Panasonic Lumix FZ200 and I feel like a complete beginner. Any insights into things I could try would be appreciated. I should mention that I prefer daylight or daylight bulbs and do not use flash.

I have a similar problem with some of my scarves which have nylon glittery thread blended with the wool to give a sparkly effect. Have never managed to illustrate the sparkle in photographs very effectively. I think if you are lucky and manage to get any light available to bounce of it at the right angle it helps a bit and sometimes I have found using a flash helps but like you I’m not keen on using flash for my photos. Will be following this thread with interest in the hope someone has a solution!

You need to use reflectors to bounce the window light where you need it in order to get the sparkle. I had this discussion with some of the other jewellery makers last Nov. and it is clear that there is no easy way to do it without a professional lighting set-up. Labradorite and opal are particularly difficult because you don’t always get the rainbow colours that show up in real life (mainly because you have two eyes and the camera has only one sensor). Also, faceted gems tend to show up the white “hot-spots” you mentioned.