How do you decide what to sell on Folksy?

I was wondering how you decide what to sell on Folksy. I have been looking at the Folksy Charts 2014, and it says this:

The average order value across the site was £18.27; the average order value of the top 20 shops by revenue was a little higher at £19.92; while the top 20 best-selling shops by units sold had an average order value of £10.22, which reflects the fact that many of these focus on low-value, high-volume items like cards and supplies. Interestingly, the average selling price has increased year on year, and is up £2.43 on the 2011 average of £15.84.

So, do you only list items that are around these price points, or do you list things that are quite a bit more expensive?

I am new to Folksy, and a lot of my work sells for £30-£90+ and I am wondering if I am too expensive for the Folksy market, or if I should start making items that are more aimed at lower pricing too?

Would welcome opinions please!

Thanks in advance!

When I first started out on Folksy I was given the advice to list a good mixture of inexpensive items as well as higher priced items. So I took the advice and it did certainly help with sales. At the moment though I haven’t got much in my shop due to having a few craft fairs coming up etc and been quite busy doing other things. I will be however listing again later in the year.
Your prices are very reasonable and I’m sure you’ll have lots of sales but it does take a lot of promoting to get noticed so be prepared to do just that.

1 Like

I recently has to have a good long hard think about what I sell. Most of my items are at £40+, but I had sold very few on here. I know some people out there are prepared to pay the asking price as I had sold some, but they are few and far between.