My photos watermarked

Hello. I have an empty shop at the moment.

While I am photographing my latest designs, I was wondering if having my shop name on my photos as a watermark to deter internet pirates, would be allowed?

1 Like

Yes it is allowed, as long as it’s just your shop name.
Not sure how much it deters the pirates though, as they seem to steal watermarked images just as freely.

2 Likes

Watermarks are allowed but do little to deter internet pirates. Watermarks are surprisingly easy to remove and in some cases they will just crop the watermark out. (As a customer i dislike when watermarks go over the product as it obscures the very thing i want to see!)
Another option to a watermark would be to use something branded (eg a gift box) in the photo. That is much harder to crop out/ remove.

4 Likes

How many internet pirates are you expecting. I’ve been selling here since 2009 and as far as I am aware there has been very little copying of my designs and I have sold 1000s.
I personally would not dream of spoiling my photoso with a watermark. I think it is absolutely unnecessary and yes they do put me off when i see them.

1 Like

Thank you for your replies, they are appreciated.

2 Likes

Photos of my original paintings have been used by pirates to put on gift items and tshirts.

Pretty nasty, however also amazing to think my art is good enough to steal!

Not much I can do to stop them.

Here are some examples of cloned items:

3 Likes

Lovely pics but I note you don’t watermark them even so and you are an established artist
As Pete has emptied his shop we have no way of seeing what he sells so not easy to advise him

3 Likes

I’ve been watermarking my images for years (using photoshop) although lately I haven’t been bothering as much only because I don’t know how to do it on my i-phone!