Teaching your Craft

I have had several people approach me at craft fairs asking me if I do any tuition/workshops. This has set me thinking that it might be a fun thing to do but I have absolutely no idea where to start. I’m self taught in my field (felting) and am not looking to teach in depth for participants to gain a qualification but just to share techniques and ideas that I have found work. Is there a short course anywhere you can take to qualify you as a teacher of crafts/hobbies? Are there safety aspects/insurance things I should look at?

Any help/information gratefully received.

Roz

I don’t think you need to take a teaching course to run craft workshops, unless that has changed quite recently.
Insurance is the biggest headache as there are so many health and safety aspects to consider.

Years ago I used to run craft workshops for children, and there were many, many hoops to jump through regarding insurance, numbers, police checks, heath and safety etc. but with adults it should be slightly easier.

You will need to be police checked though - the certificate will last four years.

Sarah x

Thanks - I’m pretty sure your right about the teaching course - I would just like to take one to point me in the right direction as I have never done anything like that before! Think I would stick with adult workshops - like you say too many hoops for children!

You also need to ensure your classes are accessible to disabled people, as you would be a provider of services under the law ( Part 3 of The Equality Act 2010 ) . That means your venue where you do the workshops may need to be accessible too, and not just for wheelchair-users, but provision for deaf and hearing- impaired people, blind people, cognitive-impairments, etc.

There are a range of portable hearing-loops available, and even one on a clipboard if you move around a lot, ( Ideal for guides ), which has about a metre or so pick-up area for persons with hearing aids.