Drawing / painting novice advice

I would like to paint or draw something on paper, like small postcards or gift tags. I don’t draw or paint, so a complete beginner here. Can someone advise what type of paper is the best to use? And what can I use to draw / paint that would not come off?

Back when I was doing my art gcse I used a 135gsm weight sketch pad (from wh smiths I think) - heavy enough to cope with water colours, pen and ink, pencil, pastels etc but probably not oils. It would need sticking on to something if you wanted it to act as a tag as it wouldn’t be stiff enough on its own.
Water colours, pen and ink shouldn’t come off when dry (the trick is not accidentally smudging them whilst they are wet and the drying time could vary depending on the finish of the paper/ card stock you decide to use) as for all of the next generation pencils/ felt tip pens etc that have come about because of the adult colouring craze I couldn’t possibly comment having never tried them but I’m sure you could have fun trying some of them out. Chalk pastels smudged like mad (which was half the fun) and I remember ‘fixing’ them with hair spray afterwards to reduce the amount that came off.

1 Like

The type of paper you use depends on the medium you are using on it! Coloured artists inks are usually permanent (but check on the bottle first as some are water soluable) and so are the draftsmans’ pens that architects etc. use (I use mitsubshi Unipens). These are disposable pigment ink pens, water and fade proof that come with integral nibs in different thicknesses (a bit like felt tips but finer). 0.5 mm gives a medium thickness line, 0.8 a thick line and 0.3 a fine line but there are thicknesses in between. Beginners should avoid thinner nibs than 0.3 mm because the line can look shaky or spidery if not used with confidence.