Email asking for donations

I’ve received an email from Henrietta, a language therapist from Birmingham City University asking from raffle prize donations. Is this legit? Anyone else get one?

"Charity raffle donation

Message from item page: http://folksy.com/items/6696982-Fingerless-Gloves-Dark-Pink
Hi, your items are absolutely beautiful!
I’m a student speech and language therapist at Birmingham City University and I am organising a charity ball in aid of Giving Voice. Giving voice is the Royal College of Speech and Language Therapists’ UK wide campaign designed to ‘give voice’ to people with speech, language and communication needs. We are also raising money for Birmingham Children’s Hospital and BUDS - Better understanding of Dementia in Sandwell by having a raffle.
I was wondering if you would be willing to donate a prize for our raffle to help us raise more money. The raffle will be for students and lecturers.
we would really appreciate a prize however big or small you are able to give us. we are happy to advertise for you.
thanks in advance
Henrietta"

Personally I wouldn’t Claire @HookandLoop

I just googled Giving Voice and got some links. But when you click on them it’s just a white page. It’s really easy to set up a website and I would’ve expected a hoaxer to put in a bit more effort than that! :grin:

1 Like

I would ignore it. If you reply they have you email address and no doubt it’ll end up on every scammers list and you’ll get lots more begging letter with sob stories attached.

Are you near the university?

You could pop in and see if this is legit but doesn’t mean you have to donate.

They don’t give you their charity registration number.

Those who are real would give their number and they’d not be targeting small sole businesses like us but would be contacting local larger businesses.

Also this is not what the contact designer button is for it’s considered unwanted ie spam. Forward it to Admin.

2 Likes