Feed back please new to this feel im doing everything wrong

Hello all, I’m new to folksy been on here just over a month, haven’t sold anything yet I’ve had some views but only about 150 in over a month. I’ve just joined twitter, well I hope I’ve done it right. I’m rubbish with social media and don’t have a facebook page or any others. Would appreciate some feedback and advice. How long did it take you all to get your first sell? Where do most of your customers come from facebook etc? I’m thinking perhaps there’s just to much competition in crochet and I’m just not up to the standards of some of the other wonderful crafters on folksy. Perhaps I’m just being to impatient or keen as I like to call it. Any advice would be great, thank -you for reading.

Welcome to Folksy.
Promotion is key to achieving (steady) sales so getting to grips with social media is a must, you can start with one eg twitter and when you are happy with it then you can add another (different people find different social medias work better for them so don’t get too hung up if you just don’t like one of them). It is possible to pick up sales to people just browsing the site but you need to make sure your titles, descriptions and tags are up to scratch - you need to sell the item to the person and make them want it, now is the time to find your thesaurus and get handy with the adjectives (things like soft, snuggly, warm, sumptuous). Your tags need revising to help you be found by the search algorithm. At the moment the listing I’m looking at has
handmade crochet pinkandwhite scarf acrylic yarn
as one of its tags, people are unlikely to use that as a search term so you would be better off splitting it up into crotchet scarf, pink scarf, handmade scarf and adding things like bright scarf, colourful scarf. This blog post should help you polish up your listings

Good luck.

1 Like