First Craft Fair Advice

I am just about to sign up for my first craft fair in Cumbria, UK. I sell greetings cards, prints, party stationery and hopefully soon bookmarks, door hangers and gifts.

I have never done a craft fair before so I don’t really have any idea where to start! How much stock do I need, how do I display my stock (I have no stands etc.), what else do I need to take with me?

Also some of my products are personalised, how could I deal with this?

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks
Andrea

I can’t help much as I’m not a seller, but this thread might help? Good luck!

Thanks,

This have given me lots to think about!

Andrea

Good luck with the fair. They are a lovely way of meeting fellow crafters and finding out what people think of your products face to face. Check with the organisers what is provided, do you need table and chairs. Are there tea/coffee facilities (if not take a flask) and take plenty to nibble on but nothing that is too difficult to eat! Take a couple of jumpers/coats, even indoors or on a nice day it can get quite chilly standing around. If you are able to take something to make with you it sometimes generates interest if people can see you in action. Don’t forget to take a float with plenty of change.

As far as amount of stock is concerned its difficult to say - I always take as much as I can, if it stays in boxes theres no harm done but it would be a shame to run out but don’t overcrowd your table all at once. Display wise its a good idea to try and get things at different heights, upturned boxes covered with fabric are a good cheap starting point. Try and make sure your items are clearly priced either individually or with one label e.g.: Cards £2.50 each etc.