Folksy Ltd

Going full time ! eeekkkkk

(Robyn Mc Clean) #1

so I have finally taken the plunge and going full time with DOWN WITH THE KIDS. I just wondered how everyone else has found it? any tips ? I seem to be getting bogged down with the best way to advertise ,I find twitter and facebook good! but have had some sorry tales from local craft events/stalls. its all very exciting and scary and just wondered what experience everyone else has had?

4 Likes
(Helen Dale) #2

Good luck! I still have a day job, so can’t offer any advice I’m afraid. But I wish you all the best.

(Brenda Cumming) #3

I have earned my living from making and selling since the 1970’s…best thing I ever did.
Times have been tough but I could choose my own hours, my own way of working and no one to tell me when I could have a teabreak…
Good luck…hopefully the best life decision you will ever make.

1 Like
(Sara Leigh Thornton) #4

I’ve been doing this full time for a couple of years now - it’s hard work, but far nicer than working for someone else! Thank heavens for Working Tax Credits though - am not making enough profit to live on yet, but it’s getting better each year :smile:

Good luck :smiley:

(Robyn Mc Clean) #5

thank you all for the encouragement, I have been juggling two jobs for a few years now and realised I was holding back as I didn’t want to let anyone down. new website is being launched in a week or so. money is always a worry but god bless tax credits ! and dare I say it but im already having to plan towards Christmas ! …would be wonderful if I could finally make a full time career out of what I love

(Deborah Jones) #6

I find having a variety of outlets essential , sale or return or wholesale to shops, carefully chosen craft fairs and on-line shops. They all seem to do well at different times of year.