How do I resize photographs?

Hi there, I’m new to all this and getting soooo frustrated as I don’t seem to be able to upload my photographs without getting them cropped when they show in a search or on my main shop page. They are fine when you click and look at them on the item page. I’ve saved them as 1000 pixels high (I think) but the bottom of the photograph is still being cropped so when someone does a search they won’t see the most important part (the charm at the bottom of the handbag charm).
My photographs are portrait and I have taken them pretty close up so there isn’t a lot of background.
Could anyone guide me through the way to do it (as simply as possible please as I’m not very computer savvy!)
Thanks,
Helen

The thumbnails on your shop page and in search are square, so you will need to take your photos with enough space round the items to be able to crop to a square without losing anything important. Then you can crop to a square using photo editing software before uploading - I use Picasa which is free to download and pretty easy to use - or you probably already have something on your computer.

This may also help: http://blog.folksy.com/category/seller-tips/handmade-photography-tips

Great, thanks for that. I was looking at others selling bag charms and many seem to position them diagonally when taking photos which makes sense as that creates more of a square! I’ll retake my photos and try uploading again. I assume it doesn’t cost anything to edit a photo in a listing?

Lovely, thanks, I’ll check that link out! x

I had a similar problem with long dangly earrings when I started - didn’t realise that it was happening until someone told me so you’re doing better than me already. If you use picasa there is a square crop option in the drop down menu - they call it cd cover - so you don’t have to guess if you’ve got it square or not.

No, you’re ok, you can edit your photos as much as you like for free!

1 Like