Postage to Germany post BREXIT

HI there
Do I need to do anything differently if I send items to Germany since BREXIT please? DO we need to complete a customs form etc? I send via the post office / royal mail
Thanks

Yes, as I understand it you’ll need to fill in a CN22 customs label (as you would for posting to the US etc pre Brexit, now it’s the same for all EU countries too). Think that’s the main change.

Thank you Lucy, yes thats what I thought. Do you know if we need a EORI number now? Or is that mainly for bigger companies?
What a palava!!!

1 Like

AND I did read that now the recipient may need to pay import taxes too, but I have no idea what they may be!

The advice seems to be that you’re supposed to have an EORI number if you send goods to another country at all, so I applied for one even though I’m just a sole trader. It was really straight forward to do - you fill in an online form and they issue a number straight away.

That said, I send by Royal Mail too and as far as I know they use their own EORI number so there’s no need to actually include your own number on the packaging as it stands! I think If sending using other couriers, some of them ask for your EORI number upfront.

Thank you Lucy, that’s helpful! I need to send something to Germany and just checked online and dont THINK they put on a customs charge at the moment - due to the trade deal that came in on Jan 1st, so think I am covered there.
Do you know anything about the packaging register in Germany, for anything being sent there now?
Thanks
Jo

Also msg 2!) how do yo use the EORI number on a package you are posting via the Post Office - where do you write it?!