Does anyone share my phobia of hairdressers?

Off to a wedding next weekend- got the posh clothes that make me look like someone else and that I’ll never wear again. Next it’s the Hairdresser :frowning:
I’ve always hated the hairdressers- I can’t make smalltalk, can never decide (or describe) what I want, am often unhappy about the result but don’t like to say. They spend ages on blowdrying when I know that, as soon as I wash it, it will look rubbish,etc. Add to that having to spend an hour staring at my pallid old face in the mirror…and being expected to add a tip to an already exorbitant price…etc, etc…

15 Likes

I’m with you, don’t like hairdressers, hate it when someone else has there hands on my hair! :slight_smile: :slight_smile:

3 Likes

I’ve been using the same hairdresser for many years so he knows how I like it, how my hair behaves and doesn’t take offence if I walk in and say ‘it went a bit shaggy after the last cut’. After all the years he knows not to expect much small talk from me or a tip and that once he has made me look all sleek and glossy the first thing I will do is put my crash hat on it as I cycle.
Maybe if you can’t work out what to do with your hair you should get a posh wedding hat? I have a big brimmed one for all the summer weddings where I’m expected to stand around outside slowly burning to a crisp (or not as the case is thanks to the hat), I’ve worn it to several weddings and no one has noticed that I’m recycling it (other than the other half and he can’t say anything as he wears the same suit to all weddings).

2 Likes

Oh totally agree,
they don’t know me and the relationship I have/ don’t have with my hair and hair brush.
They don’t understand when I say after 52 years, yep that’s her looking back at you in the mirror ‘love’, there is no point blow drying it like YOU want to , because as soon as I go out the door I will look like the wild woman of Borneo,