Folksy Friday success & thank you!

Hi all. Sorry, wasn’t quite sure where to put this but wanted to share!

I’m fairly new to Folksy & selling online (I started up late last year) & generally find the social media / marketing side of things quite awkward - it’s not something that comes naturally to me! I’d used Facebook before (but only really to keep in touch with people rather than putting my own stuff out there) & never used Instagram before. So when I saw about Folksy Friday I thought I’d get involved - it means I can get the Folksy name out there, connect with new people & also gives me a bit of extra content - I struggle sometimes when it feels like you’re just always banging on about yourself! :rofl: I’ve been doing a weekly colour themed pinterest board & then a collage to post on Instagram. The posts have been getting lots of nice feedback & interaction, plus they look lovely on my feed!

I listed a new pendant last week, posted on Instagram & it had sold the next day! I contacted the customer once I’d shipped, & as I always do, asked about where she came across my shop. Turns out she’d found me on Instagram, via a similar Folksy Friday post made by Pauline @JewelleryhandcraftedbyPauline So chuffed both with the sale, & the fact that all this promotion does work! It can sometimes feel like social media is just shouting into the void (does for me anyway!), so thought I’d share a success, & also a massive thank you to Pauline for the share!! :smile:

27 Likes

Ah that’s fabulous, I think Instagram is a lovely way to connect with fellow creatives xx

2 Likes

Hi Dee
Well done! I find the thought of social media quite daunting and the self promotion makes me feel a bit queezy. :grimacing::joy: It’s permanently on my to do list but keeps getting shunted down the list. Lovely to hear that it can pay off without taking over your life/creating time. I’ll get a crash course from my teenagers over the holidays. :grinning:

2 Likes

Hi Dee,