I made this when I was 18. Anyone else want to share?

Before I was an IT consultant and then retired and then a glass artist… I used to sew… and knit, and crochet… and embroider…anything and everything really except paper related.
Made, and often also designed, all my own clothes from age 15 upwards as I was ultra skinny (made Twiggy look fat) and Mum, a highly skilled dressmaker, made my clothes to grow into … but I never did. So if I wanted them to fit, I had to make my own. Made my own wedding dress (both :slight_smile: ), .
I designed and made this one first year at Un from curtain lace. Woman in the fabric shop was horrified when I said it was to be a dress. Came in useful later when hemlines had dropped a little, as a blouse :slight_smile:

20 Likes

I don’t have photos but I remember the first item I knitted. Mum, nan and my 4 aunts all knitted so there was no getting away from it! Mum taught me how to knit. My first item was made using horrible blue plastic knitting needles and it was a yellow garter stitch scarf for my teddy. It was a bit wobbly and I ended up cutting a hole in it…but I was only 4 years old! :slight_smile:

4 Likes

although I now paint…I spent most of my life knitting, doing crochet and designing knitwear…with teaching machine knitting at adult education centres in London. My Mum knitted my wedding dress on a Knitmaster knitting machine (a 302) and it went on display in the Knitmaster stand at the Ideal Home exhibition…(MANY years ago)…
I have done many crafts…like a lot of people on here…and these include needlefelting, salt dough, fimo etc just don’t ask me to sew…I am hopeless at sewing…I have attached a pic of some of my needlefelted critters.and a crochet teddy bear.

9 Likes

Ah I just love the dog second back on the left with the darker ears :slight_smile:

I love it!

First year fashion show, 1987. I’m in the middle. We had to make proper tailored coats or jackets and an outfit for underneath. I still have the coat.

10 Likes