When did you start?

I just took my nieces work down to her first open art exhibition.

She is only six and I was no where near her stage at the same age.

I guess I sort of push her along because she gets left with me allot and its the only thing I can think to do with her.

I started drawing because my mum and grandmother did it.

I thought it would be fun to find out how everyone got started in their craft and how old they were.

I was probably about the same age as your niece when I found I loved anything arty.
My mum and dad werenā€™t arty at all but enjoyed watching me do it and seeing me experiment with things. Iā€™m 28, so grew up with things like Art Attack on TV which I think helped too- Iā€™d watch it on TV after school then spend the next few nights making something Iā€™d seen.
As I got older Iā€™d pretend to be unwell so I could stay off school and draw. Haha I think my mum figured it out sometimes, but sometimes sheā€™d just let me stay off anyway (not very often!) I had to be a good actor to fool her!! Haha
But throughout middle school I had an amazing art teacher and she ran ā€˜art enhancementā€™ classes. At the time is was awesome because it meant me and a few friends sometimes got off timetable all day just to do arty things. And we always did the scenery for school plays and things.
Just always loved art of some sort! Itā€™s never faded! I never assumed I could do it as a job though. I just always figured itā€™s one of those things you canā€™t make money off unless youā€™re amazing! Haha

2 Likes

Wow thatā€™s amazing.

I love your never stop exploring lino print.

Iā€™m 28 too this Saturday :slight_smile:

2 Likes