Is anyone else's shop as dead as mine?

My November sales for 2012…40 items. My November sales for 2013…25 items. My November sales for 2014 (so far)…4 items. I know I’ll be reprimanded for being negative but how am I supposed to stay positive? It makes no difference whether I promote or not. All I can say is R.I.P. my shop!

7 Likes

I agree…sales (or should that be lack off!) have all but disappeared.

I’m no expert, but could it be there were far fewer sellers in 2012 and 2013, so your items were among less sellers and therefore getting seen more by buyers. I think more B&M shops are jumping on the “handmade” bandwaggon". Marg. x

5 Likes

My shop is low on sales too - I think I have a thick layer of dust on the shelves and some items have started to fossilise!

Jacqueline x

2 Likes

My shop is quiet - I think of it as much as an on line portfolio for people to browse through before coming to find me at craft fairs. Nov/ Dec last year no sales through folksy but 60ish through craft fairs and some people did admit that they had drawn up a short list after looking through the shop. I’ve not even been bothering to put it into holiday mode when I go to craft fairs.
Sasha

1 Like

I guess if the current trend keeps up we will be able to rent out our shops for western films…cue clumps of tumbleweed rolling by…hee! hee!

5 Likes

Could be.
Although my google analytics stats show that I do get the viewers, although they do not transfer into being buyers.
Also like many others since September, and compared to previous years, the overall number of visitors to my shop has dropped significantly.

Christine

2 Likes

I love your tumbleweed comment Christine… the first thing today which has made me really laugh !!!

Craft fairs in 2012 were brilliant for met, last year was a complete waste of my time so decided to give them a miss this year. Maybe if things are picking up again, I might do a few next year .