Oops I made a silly mistake!

I sold a scarf last night - whoopee I thought until I looked at the payment details and realised that somehow I had listed it at a very silly price by mistake. The buyer has got a mega bargain! I will be sending the item as it was my fault and I would like to provide good customer service but out of interest what is the legal (and moral) position here. Could I cancel the order if I wanted to? I’m hoping it will go large letter or else I am going to make a loss on postage too - not usually an issue as any excess postage is covered in the item price! Won’t be making that mistake too often - I hope. I have checked all the prices in my shop now. Fingers crossed the sales fairy will be back soon with a proper sale!

1 Like

I’ve made that mistake but just put it down to a loss. I don’t think there is really much you can do about it. I used to work in a shop when I first left school and was always told if something ids underpriced and the customer see’s it then thats the price it has to be sold at, but to be more careful in the future.

Looking around a bit, loads of companies have got Pricing Error as a section of their T&C’s. They specify that if a pricing error is found they will inform the customer and the customer has to either choose to pay the correct price, or cancel the order.

There’s a bit of info in this Telegraph article too, although again I think it’s all tied in with you having something in your T&C’s confirming what happens when there is a pricing error, and when you consider an order to be complete - http://www.telegraph.co.uk/finance/personalfinance/money-saving-tips/10602641/Price-glitches-Do-retailers-have-to-honour-pricing-mistakes.html

Jo

The rules must have changed since I left school then. Mind you it was a long time ago.

1 Like