Can I use a Personal Account on Instagram to promote my Work?

I know this may sound like a silly question, but I am brand new to social media and I am about to set up an Instagram account, but I am not sure if I should set up a business account or a personal one. My understanding of having a business account means that your address and contact details have to be on display which I am not keen on for obvious reasons, but this is not the case with a personal account or have I got this all wrong? when I look at other Folksy members Instagram sites, none of their contact details are on display. Are they using a business account or a personal one? I would be grateful for any help and advice on this. Thank you.

Yes you can use a personal account but a business account is much better. You only put information into the profile that you want to share. But with the business account you can see much more information about engagement on the platform. You can also then run promotions in Instagram to get a wider reach of your posts. These are really easy to set up and use and you only spend the amount you choose - and this can only be a few pounds if you wish. Hope this helps.

Thank you Rob for that, this is very helpful. I’ll look into this. I am still learning about how it all works and have been doing some research so I don’t make a mess of it when I eventually set it up!! Many thanks for your help. :slightly_smiling_face:

I was equally cautious, but having done it realise that it is very easy and straightforward. You can always return to a personal account if you so wish.

I use a personal account just because I use mine as a mixture of the two, I don’t separate myself from my business, so to me personal just feels more right for what I’m posting (and although it can be interesting to see stats, I’ve never found anything productive to do with them on any other site, so I don’t really miss not getting them with a personal account).