Following the poor photos thread,poor English

Does anyone else notice that the titles for items are spelt or punctuated wrongly on the Landing pages?
I’m probably being pedantic (but I was a teacher in my previous life) but in these days of spell checkers and such, it makes me shudder when things are not right. I wonder about the impression it create’s (sic) on new site visitors.
I’d be very interested in other people’s opinions on this. It’s more than fine to be casual in everyday situations,but do you want to buy from someone who doesn’t know what to do with apostrophe’s?
No personal criticism intended.

4 Likes

I try extremely hard to make sure my listings use the correct spelling and grammar.

I think it’s professional to take the time to attempt to get it right.

However I do have problems at time and have to edit some of my listing and it might have noticed that I’m forever editing my posts in the forums.

I always advise typing up listing in a word document as at least it can check your spelling and grammar. However it can get it wrong as one might type in the wrong word but have spelt it correctly.

I am one who hates to see sentences, paragraphs with mixed tenses in ie starting in the singular then going into the plural or in the past then suddenly going into the future tense. It makes it hard to read and thus hard to understand.

I often see their and there mixed up and to, too and two, etc etc.

I cringe with bad punctuation as well. No capital letter at the beginning of sentences and the use of comma’s instead of full stops.

We all make the odd error often it’s a typing error but a listing full of errors does make me wonder how much attention to detail has really gone into the sellers work.

If it’s all over a front page of a website I will admit it turns me off and I click away and would not bother to look further. That’s me I can’t answer for others but I do wonder if other’s would put off the way I would be.