Madeleine Rees is madwildart

Hi I’m new to folksy and etsy I am an artist I do large paintings mostly, and I find it really difficult to promote myself so any advice would be greatly appreciated pls

hi there -

maybe you could add some info. in your ‘meet the maker’ section so people can find out a little about you.

Do you have twitter/facebook accounts ? Most people on here promote via these and you could add links to these on your folksy shop also.

hope this helps a bit.

1 Like

Nice to see you, Madeleine, and I like your paintings.

I think it would be good to have a little more about the inspiiration behind each pice - why did flamingos catch your eye? What sort of room would they suit? etc The more (relevant) the merrier as this is what will make your items come up in the Search function.

You say that each each one is Custom Made (made-to-order) - that to me means that when you get an order, you paint the picture for that customer. I’m not sure that’s what you mean.

I’ve learned lots from these forums, everyone here is most friendly and helpful! this might be a good place to start…

Good luck
Helen

2 Likes

Hi, Madeleine. I’ve tried selling large paintings online without success (that may be because they’re not very good! I think they’re OK, of course). It’s very difficult to get a good photograph. Your photos are pretty clear but if I were looking as a prospective buyer I would want to know if what you show is the whole painting or a detail- so I would like to see the whole painting face on, showing the edges, on a wall or an easel with a plain background.
Your descriptions and tags seem to be a bit basic, you could add so much more to get your work noticed. I agree with Sally @SallyandtheFreckles.
Your paintings are lovely, your shop deserves to be successful but you have to put lots of extra work in…

1 Like

Hi,