Scam emails

Scam emsik

Hello All

This is my first time using Folksy talk, so sorry if my warning is in the incorrect place.

I have received five email scams in the past 30 hours. I have been reporting them to Folksy support to get them removed.

The latest is Ruth 90

They all ask the same questions:

Is the item new
What us it’s condition
Are you the owner
Do you accept PayPal as payment.

They are opening up their ability to purchase goods from Folksy sellers on Folksy and contacting sellers via the link ‘contact seller’.

I just wanted to warn you all. Please let others know as they are hitting sellers with high priced items

Regards Gail
Demelza Designs

2 Likes

Hi thanks for letting us know, there have been a few going around lately, hopefully they will get fed up sometime if they keep getting blocked on here.

I had the same one from Ruth90, spoke to paypal and informed them, i was nearly duped though hadnt heard of this before.

1 Like

Same here! Brown 542 today …keep deleting and marking as phishing.
So disappointing you get a frisson of excitement when you see the email only to realise it is some crank!Grrrr

Hello

Thank goodness I put out an alert. I had a total of five names in 30 hours and all reported to Folksy. As fast as I was reporting them they were taking them down from the site. I kept telling them someone would fall fawl if they didn’t know Folksy was being hit hard by the scamers. They said they were working on it, but it was a very difficult scam to get rid off. I think they must have done it because I have not had any more since Monday morning.

All the best.

Regards

Gail

Demelza Designs

I gave them my paypal addy, phone number and address. I’d never heard of it before. But when I got a request to send a load of money then broken English I knew it was not right. So I googled scams on folksy and found it. Thank god I realised before it was too
late. PayPal said as I didn’t click on a link I was ok. But they were very convincing.